Manual 365/166 BIMBY!

As I’ve said in the past, I listen to an awful lot of podcasts on my travels and I will admit that the latest episode of A Point Of View by Radio Four stopped me in my tracks for a number of reasons of which I will come to a little later. But first todays shot,

Westburys’ White HorseDSC_2859-Pano

The only regret I’ve got from this handheld panorama is that I didn’t get less field and more sky, it’s been amazing today. I’m going to have a go a merging two panoramas, start side by side and and then down to up…The file is going to be huge!

Right, back to the podcast; if you’ve never heard it before it’s a 10 minute monologue by various thinkers or commentators, Will Self is my favourite but today’s was by Roger Scruton on the British countryside and why, even though the UK is the most densely populated country in Europe the countryside remains one of our most beautiful and cherished possessions. He explains how it was shaped, protected, threatened and how we must move forward into the future by learning from mistakes of our past. The future does not lie with “Not In My Back Yard” but in the “Beauty In My Back Yard” and I am now a fully fledged advocate!

The beautiful landscapes of the British Isles has enabled me to fill my blog and enhance my appreciation of my beautiful corner of the world, even the everyday can take on a special moment here and to all those who have help conserve and create this special place I offer my heart felt thanks!

You can find the download here, I don’t know if it’ll work outside the UK and I have been looking for other sources or transcripts to no avail, I will keep trying and if I find anything (I might even transcribe it myself) I’ll post on a future blog. If you can though, have a look back through the archive, it’s listening / thinking gold!

And just a little political sub note, my position on the EU votes is….DSC_2868.jpg

Vote “Love” (in) Peeps! x

 

One thought on “Manual 365/166 BIMBY!

Leave a Reply

