Manual 365/114 It’s Not Charlies’ Tree, It’s Mine!

Setting the alarm for 4:30am on a Saturday morning is just wrong but also so right. I had checked the weather forecast last night and the rain from yesterday was due to clear about an hour before sunrise so that would mean a crisp clear morning and I wasn’t about to pass that up. So, at 05:15 off I trot to the bemusement of the few drivers who passed me walking along the Gillingham road.

My subject had already been chosen so I knew where I was going and, as luck would have it a footpath runs along side the field so access was not a problem.

Single trees in fields seems to be a thing in this part of the world and I love them as does the great Charlie Waite, I don’t know if he’s shot this particular tree (It’s not far from where he lives) and if he has I’m sure my humble offering pales into insignificance but I’m proud of it and I will be returning to hone my skills!

DSC_3133_HDR18mm @ f/20, ISO 100 and varying exposure times combined in HDR Efex

The tree is actually in the middle of a meadow so in a few weeks time when the wild flowers and leaves are out but before the first mowing this place will be spectacular!

And the sun rises are just going to get earlier and earlier but it was great, just me, my camera and 600 other peeps (Admittedly 20,000 feet above my head but hey, it was nice to share it with you guys!) DSC_3167.jpg300mm @ f/8.0, 1/250th sec, ISO 100 I’m secretly proud of this shot, I managed to get it bang on centre at full length with minimal lens shake! Who’s a clever boy!

And the walk back offered a few more too.

Buzzard!DSC_3230.jpg

And we were hoping for frost but this is the best we could dew…. (Groans!)

DSC_3239.jpg

So, a 3 mile walk before 7 and then back to bed…. Spot on!

Have a great weekend!

Peace peeps! x

 

 

Leave a Reply

